Broker Check

Blog

What's on your mind?  Changes in tax laws, financial wellness, and insurance regulations can affect you as you prepare for retirement and how you run your business.  Our weekly blog will help you stay up to date on the things you need to know.  And once in a while, we may have a little fun and share news and information about our community.  Keep checking in and we hope you enjoy it!

Thursday, August 11, 2022

Weekly RecapAugust 1-5, 2022 RecapStocks Advance Third WeekStrong Jobs Data Trims Weekly GainThe S&P 500 posted fraction gains last week after an unexpected strong July payrolls report on Friday. The economy added 528,000 new jobs last...

Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Is Inflation Shrinking Your Retirement?According to a recent retirement confidence survey, 8 in 10 retirees say they are confident they will have enough money to live comfortably throughout retirement. Among those who are less...

Friday, August 5, 2022

Weekly RecapJuly 25-29, 2022 RecapStocks Advance Second WeekStrong Back-to-Back GainsAll three major U.S. equity indices posted their strongest back-to-back weekly gains since late March, simultaneously capping July with their...

Tuesday, August 2, 2022

Monthly RecapMarket IndicesAt-A-GlanceDespite strong gains, the S&P 500 remains in correction, down 13.14% from its Jan 3 record high.  Positively, the index ended July up 12.80% from its 6/16/22 first-half low.The Dow Jones...

Friday, July 29, 2022

Weekly RecapJuly 18-22, 2022 RecapStocks AdvanceEarnings Help Inspire GainsEquities posted their strongest weekly gain in a month, led by strength in cyclical growth companies, extending a comeback after falling into a bear market...

Show All

Thursday, July 21, 2022

Weekly RecapJuly 11-15, 2022 RecapStocks Pare Weekly DeclineWall Street Sentiment Revives FridayU.S. equity markets bounced back at the end of a frenzied week, snapping a five-day slide, as investors dialed back expectations for a full...

Tuesday, July 19, 2022

What's Your Personal Inflation Rate?The annual inflation rate for the United States was 8.6% for the 12 months ended May 2022, marking the largest annual increase since December 1981.1  While there are different ways to measure...

Thursday, July 14, 2022

Weekly RecapJuly 4-8, 2022 RecapStocks ReboundUpbeat Sentiment at Second Half StartU.S. equity markets finished the holiday-shortened week positive with the S&P 500 recouping most of its prior week’s losses after a...

Monday, July 11, 2022

How to Retire With Confidence in Any Market EnvironmentWhether you recently retired or are planning to in the months ahead, you may be wondering how current financial and economic conditions may impact your plans. Do you need to adjust...

Friday, July 8, 2022

Weekly RecapJune 27 - July 1, 2022 RecapStocks Fall After Positive WeekInvestor Bearishness ContinuesU.S equity markets gave back some gains from last week as investors fear a possible recession and Fed tightening. However, going into...

Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Quarterly RecapMarket IndicesAt-A-GlanceThe S&P 500 ended the quarter 20.48% below its January 3, 2022 peak and all-time high.The Nasdaq Composite fell 8.65% in June, extending its 2Q loss to 22.28% for its worst quarter since 2008....

Monday, June 27, 2022

Weekly RecapJune 20-24, 2022 RecapBest Week in a MonthRecession Fears SubsideU.S. stocks rebounded from three weeks of declines as equity sentiment was bolstered by comments from Fed officials while a reading on inflation expectations...

Thursday, June 23, 2022

Weekly RecapJune 13-17, 2022 RecapWorst Week Since March 2020Recession Fears RiseThe S&P 500 capped its 10th weekly decline in the last 11 weeks after weakening retail sales data added to angst over worsening growth fears while the...

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Weekly RecapJune 6-10, 2022 RecapSecond Worst Week of the YearInflation Sidelines More BullsThe S&P 500 capped its ninth weekly decline in the last 10 weeks after Friday’s unexpectedly red-hot May CPI reading. The headline...

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

Should You Consider Paid Work to Generate Additional Income in Retirement?There are many reasons to pursue paid work in retirement beyond generating additional income. Work can provide a social outlet, create structure in your day, and...

Wednesday, June 1, 2022

Stocks posted solid gains for the week, buoyed by the release of Fed meeting minutes and upbeat earnings from mid-size and discount retailers.The Dow Jones Industrial Average jumped 6.24%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 advanced...

Friday, May 27, 2022

Weekly RecapMay 16-20, 2022 RecapStocks Formally Avert Bear MarketS&P 500 Declines a Seventh WeekThe S&P 500 closed fractionally higher last Friday, rebounding from an earlier intra-day low that was momentarily down more than 20% from...

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

Monday, May 9, 2022

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

Wednesday, April 20, 2022

Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Wednesday, March 30, 2022

Tuesday, March 22, 2022

Tuesday, March 15, 2022

Thursday, March 10, 2022

Friday, March 4, 2022

Monday, February 28, 2022

Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Tuesday, February 15, 2022

Monday, February 7, 2022

Tuesday, February 1, 2022

Tuesday, January 25, 2022